Agricultural and Food Chemistry Division

AGFD Awards

ATTENTION STUDENTS: Competition Deadline October 14, 2019

 Below are information for graduate and undergraduate competitions:

Withycombe Charalambous Graduate Paper Competition

Purpose:  This competition is designed to showcase the research talents of graduate degree candidates to prospective employers.

Eligibility:  Participation in the symposium is open to all graduate students who are expected to graduate in 2020 from certified universities doing advanced research in the areas of food and agricultural chemistry. Applicants must be a member of AGFD. 

Selection Process: Judges will choose those graduate students who will participate as finalists in the oral symposium session.

Venue/Date: The symposium will be held in conjunction with the 259th ACS National Meeting in Philadelphia, PA on March 22-26, 2020. 

Travel Award:  Finalists will receive travel expenses up to and including $750 to attend and present their research at the ACS National Meeting.

Award Winner: The winners will receive a cash award of $500, $250, and $100 for first, second and third place respectively. Winners will also each receive a plaque.

Requirements: The application package must include the following items:

1.      Resume/CV

2.     Complete undergraduate and graduate transcripts with GPA

3.     Letters of recommendation from 2 major degree professors (one letter preferably from the graduate advisor)

4.     Abstract of the proposed presentation (The abstract should be entered via the ACS MAPS On-line System)

Contact:  The application should be e-mailed to Dr. Kathryn Deibler, GSK Consumer Healthcare, e-mail:

Deadline:  October 14, 2019

 Undergraduate Poster Competition


This research and poster competition is designed by AGFD to showcase the research talents of undergraduate students, provide a professional forum for presentation of their research and promote their continuance of education in food & agricultural chemistry.

Participation in the competition is open to all undergraduate students at all certified universities actively participating in research projects/programs in the areas of food and agricultural chemistry.

Those students chosen to participate as Finalists in the symposium will receive travel expenses up to $750 to attend and present their research during the AGFD poster session at the Spring meeting of the ACS. Three Undergraduate Research Award winners will be determined.  The winners will receive a cash award of $500, $250, and $100 for first, second and third place, respectively.

Applications are being accepted from qualified undergraduate students. To apply, please submit the following items:

1.     Application form

2.     Resume/CV

3.     Complete college transcripts including GPA

4.     Letters of recommendation from two professors (one from advisor)

5.     Abstract of the proposed poster presentation (submit abstract to ACS MAPS On-line system)

E-mail Application to:

Dr. Kathryn Deibler

GSK Consumer Healthcare


Application & Abstract Entry Deadline: October 14, 2019


Young Scientist Symposium Award Flyer 

Deadline is March 15, 2019

 A single young scientist is selected to be honored in an awards symposium sponsored by the Agricultural and Food Chemistry Division (AGFD) of the American Chemical Society. This competition is designed by the AGFD to showcase the research talents of an outstanding young scientist in the fields of study encompassed by the Division.

 Congratulations the 2018 AGFD Award Recipients! 

Award for the Advancement of Application of Agricultural and Food Chemistry: Sevim Erhan

Roy Teranishi Graduate Fellowship in Food Chemistry: Amadeus Driando Ahnan, University of Massachusetts

AGFD Young Scientist Award: Michael Granvogl, Technical University of Munich

Withycombe–Charalambous Award for Excellence in Graduate Research in Agricultural or Food Chemistry: Yaxi Hu, University of British Columbia

AGFD Undergraduate Award: Alexia Ciarfella, Rutgers University


AGFD also co-sponsors two other awards--

Sterling B. Hendricks Memorial Lectureship Award: James Seiber

Kenneth A. Spencer Award: Thomas Stevenson


AGFD Awards

Teranishi Graduate Fellowship brochure and instructions

Brochure for: AGFD Undergraduate Student Competition and application: 

Brochure for: Graduate Student Competition - Withycombe-Charalambous Graduate Student Symposium .

AGFD Advancement of Application of Agricultural and Food Chemistry 

Agricultural and Food Chemistry

Nominations should list the name, present affiliation, and achievements of the candidate.  The nomination form and no more than three (3) letters of endorsement must be submitted to the Chair of the Awards Committee by February 1 of the year for which they are nominated.  The Awards Committee will select one nominee for ratification by the Divisional Executive Committee at or before their spring meeting.  Nominees, other than the recipient, will be eligible for consideration for two (2) consecutive calendar years without re-submission of information.

Flyer (Click Here)

pdf Nomination Form (Click Here)

Word Nomination Form (Click here)

Spencer Award (Click Here)

The Kenneth A. Spencer Award (formerly the Charles E. Spencer Award) for outstanding achievement in agricultural chemistry is administered by the Kansas City Section of the American Chemical Society. The award recognizes meritorious contributions to the field of agricultural and food chemistry. The Kansas City Section presents this award in the hope that it will give added stimulus in research, education,industry, science & technology, and to further progress in agricultural and food chemistry. The award shall consist of an appropriate medal and an honorarium of $6,000 to be presented annually at a public meeting of the Kansas City Section of the American Chemical Society.  The Spencer Award is presented at the ACS National Meeting and is co-sponsored by AGFD and AGRO. 


2014 AGFD Award Winners!  


Lists of AGFD Award Winners 


List of ACS Fellows from AGFD 

The selection of ACS Fellows is based on documented excellence and leadership in both of two areas: (1) science, the profession, education, and/or management, and (2) volunteer service in the ACS community.