Agricultural and Food Chemistry Division

Officers

 

Agricultural and Food Chemistry Division

Officers and Committee Members for 2017

 

 

Chair

Serves a 1-year term.  Presides over Divisional meetings, appoints committees, and serves as Program Chair for the ACS Spring Meeting.

Navindra Seeram

University of Rhode Island

7 Greenhouse Road

Kingston, RI 02881

401-874-9367, nseeram@uri.edu

 

Chair-Elect

Serves a 1-year term.  Substitutes for the Chair when necessary and serves as Program Chair for the ACS Fall Meeting. 

Brian Guthrie

Cargill Food Systems Design

2301 Crosby Road

Wayzata, MN 53391

952-742-3983  

 

Vice-Chair

Serves a 1-year term. Assists the Chair-Elect in developing future technical programs.

Xuetong Fan

USDA-ARS

Eastern Regional Research Center

600 E. Mermaid La.

Wyndmoor, PA 19038

215-836-3785, xuetong.fan@ars.usda.gov 

 

Secretary

Responsible for Division correspondence and meeting minutes.

Michael Tunick

USDA-ARS

Eastern Regional Research Center

600 E. Mermaid La.

Wyndmoor, PA 19038

215-233-6454, michael.tunick@ars.usda.gov

 

Treasurer

Responsible for Division financial matters.

Stephen Toth

International Flavors and Fragrances R&D

1515 Hwy. 36

Union Beach, NJ 07735

732-335-2772, stephen.toth@iff.com


Cornucopia Editor

Edits the Division newsletter.

Carl Frey

203-918-6007, cfreyenterprises@gmail.com

 

Councilors

Serve 3-year terms on ACS Council, representing the Division. 

Michael Appell (thru ’19), michael.appell@gmail.com

John Finley (thru ’17), jfinley@agcenter.lsu.edu

Michael Morello (thru ’17), mike.morello@pepsico.com

Agnes Rimando (thru ’18), agnes.rimando@ars.usda.gov

 

Alternate Councilors

Serve 3-year terms, substituting for Councilors unable to attend Council meetings.

Charles Brine (thru ’18), brinec11@verizon.net

Keith Cadwallader (thru ’17), cadwlldr@uiuc.edu

Alyson Mitchell (thru ’19), aemitchell@ucdavis.edu

Lauren Jackson (thru ’19), fshahidi@mun.ca

 

At-Large Executive Committee Members

Serve 3-year terms as part of the Division’s management team.

Terry Acree (thru ’18), tea2@cornell.edu

Jane Leland (thru ’17), jleland@kraftfoods.com

Robert McGorrin (thru ’17), robert.mcgorrin@oregonstate.edu

Mathias Sucan (thru ’18), mksucan@pfizer.com

 

Awards

Solicits nominations and oversees awards process.

   Chair, Michael Morello (thru '17), mjmorello226@gmail.com

   Student Awards, Chi-Tang Ho, ho@aesop.rutgers.edu    

   Fellow Awards, Fereidoon Shahidi, fshahidi@mun.ca   

   Canvassing, Stephen Toth, stephen.toth@iff.com, Artemo Tulio, Jr., artemio.tulio@fda.hhs.gov

 

Finance

1-year term, served by the Immediate Past Chair.  Monitors the Division’s financial activities.

Bosoon Park, bosoon.park@ars.usda.gov 

 

Nominations

1-year term, served by the Immediate Past Chair.  Develops slate of candidates for offices.

Bosoon Park, bosoon.park@ars.usda.gov 

 

Multidisciplinary Program Planning Group Representative

Helps coordinate national meeting programming that emphasizes critical scientific areas.

John Finley, jfinle5@lsu.edu 

 

Hospitality

Organizes the Spring Reception and Fall Banquet.

Michael Tunick, michael.tunick@ars.usda.gov

  

Membership

Responsible for recruitment and retention of Division members.

Lucy Yu, lyu5@umd.edu

 

Nominations

1-year term, served by the Immediate Past Chair.  Develops slate of candidates for offices.

Bosoon Park, bosoon.park@ars.usda.gov  

 

Public Relations

Publicizes the Division’s activities.

Michael Tunick, michael.tunick@ars.usda.gov

 

Web Site

Maintains the Division web site.

Kathryn Deibler, 513-482-2537, kdd3@cornell.edu 

Michael Appell, 309-360-3396, michael.appell@gmail.com

 

Subdivisions

Develops symposia and future Division leadership.

 

Flavor

  Chair, Ryan Elias, elias@psu.edu

  Chair-Elect, Julie Anne Grover, JulieAnne.Grover@Kraftfoods.com

  Vice-Chair, Elizabeth Kreger, Liz.Kreger@adm.com

  Secretary, Tony Shao, tony.shao@pepsico.com

 

  2018 Secretary, GK Jayaprakasha, gkjp@tamu.edu

 

Functional Foods & Natural Products

Chair, Mathias Sucan, mathias.sucan@pfizer.com

  Chair-Elect, Kwang-Geun Lee, kwglee@dongguk.edu

  Vice-Chair, Hyang-Sook Chun, hschun@cau.ac.kr

 

  Secretary, Hang Ma, hang_ma@uri.edu

 

Biotechnology

  Chair, Rashmi Tiwari, rashmi.tiwari@pepsico.com

  Chair-Elect, Nitin Nitin, nnitin@ucdavis.edu

  Vice-Chair, John Finley, jfinle5@lsu.edu

 

  

Nutrition

Chair, Indika Edirisinghe, iedirisi@iit.edu

  Chair-Elect, Luke Howard, lukeh@uark.edu

  Vice-Chair, LinShu Liu, linshu.liu@ars.usda.gov

 

  Secretary, Youngmok Kim, ykim@synergytaste.com

 

Food Safety

Chair, Bosoon Park, bosoon.park@ars.usda.gov

 Chair-Elect, Alyson Mitchell, aemitchell@ucdavis.edu

 Vice-Chair, Michael Granvogl, michael.granvogl@tum.de

 Secretary, Xiaohua He, xiaohua.he@ars.usda.gov

 

 2018 Secretary, Juhong Chen, juhong@cornell.edu

 

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

ACS Videos