Agricultural and Food Chemistry Division

Officers

 

Agricultural and Food Chemistry Division

Officers and Committee Members for 2018

 

 

Chair

Serves a 1-year term.  Presides over Divisional meetings, appoints committees, and serves as Program Chair for the ACS Spring Meeting.

 

Brian Guthrie

Cargill Food System Design

2301 Crosby Rd.

Wayzata, MN 55391

952-742-3983, brian_guthrie@cargill.com

 

Chair-Elect

Serves a 1-year term.  Substitutes for the Chair when necessary and serves as Program Chair for the ACS Fall Meeting. 

Xuetong Fan

USDA-ARS

Eastern Regional Research Center

600 E. Mermaid La.

Wyndmoor, PA 19038

215-836-3785, xuetong.fan@ars.usda.gov

 

Vice-Chair

Serves a 1-year term. Assists the Chair-Elect in developing future technical programs.

Lucy Yu

University of Maryland

112 Skinner Bldg.

College Park, MD 20742

301-405-0761, lyu5@umd.edu

 

Secretary

Responsible for Division correspondence and meeting minutes.

Michael Tunick

Drexel University

101 N. 33rd St.

Philadelphia, PA 19104

215-895-0955, mht39@drexel.edu

 

Treasurer

Responsible for Division financial matters.

Stephen Toth

International Flavors and Fragrances R&D

1515 Hwy. 36

Union Beach, NJ 07735

732-335-2772, stephen.toth@iff.com

Cornucopia Editor

Edits the Division newsletter.

Carl Frey, 203-918-6007, cfreyenterprises@gmail.com

 

Councilors

Serve 3-year terms on ACS Council, representing the Division. 

Michael Appell (thru ’19), michael.appell@gmail.com

John Finley (thru ’20), jfinley@agcenter.lsu.edu

 

Lauren Jackson (thru ’20), lauren.jackson@fda.hhs.gov

Agnes Rimando (thru ’18), agnes.rimando@ars.usda.gov

 

Alternate Councilors

Serve 3-year terms, substituting for Councilors unable to attend Council meetings.

Charles Brine (thru ’18), brinec11@verizon.net

Keith Cadwallader (thru ’20), cadwlldr@uiuc.edu

Alyson Mitchell (thru ’19), aemitchell@ucdavis.edu

Michael Qian (thru ’18), michael.qian@oregonstate.edu

 

At-Large Executive Committee Members

Serve 3-year terms as part of the Division’s management team.

Terry Acree (thru ’18), tea2@cornell.edu

Jane Leland (thru ’20), jleland@kraftfoods.com

Robert McGorrin (thru ’20), robert.mcgorrin@oregonstate.edu

Mathias Sucan (thru ’18), mksucan@pfizer.com

 

Awards

Solicits nominations and oversees awards process.

   Chair, Michael Morello (thru '17), mjmorello226@gmail.com

   Student Awards, Chi-Tang Ho, ho@aesop.rutgers.edu    

   Fellow Awards, Fereidoon Shahidi, fshahidi@mun.ca  

   Canvassing, Stephen Toth, stephen.toth@iff.com

 

Finance

1-year term, served by the Immediate Past Chair.  Monitors the Division’s financial activities.

 

Navindra Seeram, nseeram@uri.edu

 

Nominations

1-year term, served by the Immediate Past Chair.  Develops slate of candidates for offices.

 

Navindra Seeram, nseeram@uri.edu

 

Multidisciplinary Program Planning Group Representative

Helps coordinate national meeting programming that emphasizes critical scientific areas.

John Finley, jfinle5@lsu.edu 

 

Hospitality 

Organizes the Spring Reception and Fall Banquet.

Alyson Mitchell (thru ’19), aemitchell@ucdavis.edu

Charles Brine, brinec11@verizon.net

 

Membership

Responsible for recruitment and retention of Division members.

Michael Qian, michael.qian@oregonstate.edu

Nominations

 

1-year term, served by the Immediate Past Chair.  Develops slate of candidates for offices.

Navindra Seeram, nseeram@uri.edu

 

Public Relations

Publicizes the Division’s activities.

Charles Brine, brinec11@verizon.net

 

Web Site

Maintains the Division web site.

Kathryn Deibler, 513-482-2537, kdd3@cornell.edu 

Michael Appell, 309-360-3396, michael.appell@gmail.com

 

Subdivisions

Develops symposia and future Division leadership.

 

Flavor

  Chair, Julie Anne Grover, JulieAnne.Grover@Kraftfoods.com

  Chair-Elect, Elizabeth Kreger, Liz.Kreger@adm.com

  Vice-Chair, Tony Shao, tony.shao@pepsico.com

  Secretary, GK Jayaprakasha, gkjp@tamu.edu

  2019 Secretary, Yu Wang, yu.wang@ufl.edu

  2020 Secretary, Michael Grangovl, michael.granvogl@tum.de

 

Functional Foods & Natural Products

  Chair, Kwang-Geun Lee, kwglee@dongguk.edu

  Chair-Elect, Hyang-Sook Chun, hschun@cau.ac.kr

  Vice-Chair, Hang Ma, hang_ma@uri.edu

  Secretary,

 

Biotechnology

  Chair, Nitin Nitin, nnitin@ucdavis.edu

  Chair-Elect, John Finley, jfinle5@lsu.edu

  Vice-Chair,

  Secretary,

 

Nutrition

  Chair, Luke Howard, lukeh@uark.edu

  Chair-Elect, LinShu Liu, linshu.liu@ars.usda.gov

  Vice-Chair, Youngmok Kim, ykim@synergytaste.com

  Secretary, Mina Kim, minakim@jbnu.ac.kr  

 

Food Safety

 Chair, Alyson Mitchell, aemitchell@ucdavis.edu

 Chair-Elect, Michael Granvogl, michael.granvogl@tum.de

 Vice-Chair, Xiaohua He, xiaohua.he@ars.usda.gov

 Secretary, Juhong Chen, juhong@cornell.edu

 

 

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

ACS Videos